Skipper Rohit Sharma overtakes Pakistan’s Babar Azam to become the most successful T20I… | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Team India on Thursday thrashed defending champions England by 68 runs in the second semi-final of the T20 World Cup to book their place in Saturday’s final against South Africa.
Defending 171 in Guyana, bowlers put up a stupendous show as the Englishmen were stopped at 103 all out inside 17 overs.
With the win, India entered their third T20 World Cup final after 2007 and 2014.
The victory was also special for skipper Rohit Sharma as he became the most successful T20I captain with 49 wins.
With the victory over England in the semis, Rohit overtook Pakistan’s Babar Azam (48) for most wins as T20I captain.
Put into bat in the rain-hit match at the Providence Stadium, 2007 champions India posted 171 for seven with skipper Rohit Sharma (57) and Suryakumar Yadav (47) scoring bulk of the runs on a slow track.
England then folded for 103 in 16.4 overs, never really recovering from a top-order collapse and surrendering to India’s spin duo of Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav, who claimed three wickets apiece.
With the win, India also registered their second longest winning streak in T20Is — 11 matches. India’s longest winning run — 12 matches — came between November 2021 to February 2022.
Earlier in the day, South Africa hammered Afghanistan to reach the final in Bridgetown, Barbados.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *