Shivam Dube replaces injured Nitish Reddy in India squad for Zimbabwe T20Is | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: The BCCI has announced that all-rounder Shivam Dube will replace the injured Nitish Reddy in the Indian T20 squad for the upcoming Zimbabwe tour, which consists of five T20 Internationals starting from July 6. The medical team is currently monitoring the progress of the Sunrisers Hyderabad all-rounder.
All matches during the series will be played in Harare.
The selection committee has rewarded youngsters Riyan Parag, Abhishek Sharma, and Nitish for their impressive performances in the recent IPL with their maiden India call-ups.
The team will be led by Shubman Gill.
“The men’s selection committee named Shivam Dube as replacement for the injured Nitish Reddy in India’s squad for the upcoming tour of Zimbabwe,” the BCCI said in a statement.
The BCCI said its medical team is monitoring the Sunrisers Hyderabad all-rounder’s progress.
Senior players, including captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja and Jasprit Bumrah have been rested ahead of a gruelling season.
Nitish scored 303 runs at an average of 33.67 and a strike rate of 142.92, playing a crucial role in propping up the SRH middle order in the IPL 2024. Nitish also claimed three wickets, including 2/17 against Delhi Capitals.
India’s updated squad:
Shubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *